Blessings This Week

21 March 2015

Elder Kinghorn found 2 new flats (apartments) needed for the young Elders and Sisters.

The 38 sandwiches Sister Tolman and I packed up for President and Sister Back to take to Zone Conference were tasty and made a hearty lunch. We put ham and cheese in big rolls (like hoagies), wrapped them in plastic, and placed them in a BIG cooler. In another large cooler, we sent large containers of lettuce and cucumber and a large bag of tomatoes. There was also fruit, chips and water. Our goal was to simplify the lunch so we could just send it and not have to spend the whole day preparing and serving lunch. It worked well, so we repeated the process the next day, sending more sandwiches and tomatoes.

Elder Kinghorn participated in our Mortdale Ward rescue night. Priesthood holders meet in the bishop’s office and are assigned a couple of members to visit. Elder Kinghorn and another brother IMG_3075(who is finding it hard to get to church himself) visited a mother who just had her 7th child, and an older brother in failing health who they were able to give a blessing.

We got our grocery shopping done Friday night so we could go to the Temple Saturday.

On Saturday, at the temple, we were surprised to see many people that we know! (We have just been here 6 weeks). It was lovely to get a running hug from Sister Watland (the artist) who I used to see every day before transfers. I was really happy to see Faith (from Bathurst) and hear that she loved her experience performing baptisms in the temple. And her mother has gone 4 days without smoking!

After attending the temple, we ate a packed lunch in the car so we could go and inspect a flat in Paramatta. We joined several others for the 10-minute walk through with the agent. The flat is perfect for young Elders: light, roomy with 3 bedrooms and 2 baths, a locked parking space and no yard. But not too nice. The carpet is stained and walls needed painting. Elder Kinghorn filed an application. I gave a pass along card to the friendly father from India also looking at the flat.

One thought on “Blessings This Week

  1. Eva

    Hi Ilene! I am enjoying hearing about all of your goings-on–the cultural changes, the experiences and duties and opportunities to strengthen others. It sounds like you are having to think on your feet–it sounds like you have jumped right in with both (all four!) feet! You are an example of my scripture for the week: “But be ye doers of the word, and not hearers only…” (James 1:22)

    It just makes me happy to think of you seeing kangaroos in the wild!

    I went to the stake family history center on Saturday to learn how to use the FamilyTree. Then on Monday we went over to a member family’s home to introduce them to it. Talk about a crash course! I am very thankful that the Church now has free ancestry,com access for us because teaching that family taught me how little facility I have with the new program, so I also set them up with a free ancestry.com account and we found a death record right away that takes them back another generation. Whew! I am practicing every day so I can get more comfortable with the program. It’s hard to make my brain learn new tricks, but it has to because it’s my calling!

    Scott and I have an interview with a member of the stake presidency tonight. I think they may be going to release me from my stake tutoring calling. They released our supervisor last year and turned it over to the other stake, who have been managing it all on their own since then (bless their hearts!).

    My friend Marilyn (our stake president’s wife) puts up a scripture on her back door so her children see it every time they go out. I love that idea! The last one she had up was “Have ye inquired of the Lord?” (1 Nephi 15:8) to help them remember their prayers.

    Love to you,
    Eva

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

