Twas the Night Before…

…Christmas! We got to be Mr. and Mrs. Santa, delivering last minute packages to the missionaries in Oak Flats and Wollongong. They are beautiful cities along the coast about an hour south of Sydney. We stopped at this visitor centre with an overlook platform. Note how I am holding on the rail. The platform jiggled as people walked on it and was like a grate with small holes. Being able to look down and see how high we were perched was frightening. I did not stay long!

It was really fun taking the presents and I should have taken pictures of the missionaries. After delivering the gifts, we took off our shoes and waded on a beach in Wollongong. We will ever get to do that again on Christmas Eve?

IMG_4059

 

One thought on “Twas the Night Before…

  1. Eva

    Ah…summer in December. You could get used to that 🙂 And playing Santa to the missionaries–that must have been SO FUN!!!
    Oh, by the way, we’re having a big snowstorm here today and it is lovely. Maybe 8″ so far.
    Melissa sent me a birthday present: She and her little girls had finished four of the little baby quilts I made a long time ago but that I had never quilted or bound. I had just made them sort of as samplers and had gotten tired of them, thinking they weren’t very cute, but when Melissa was here and was looking for projects to do, I gave them to her and promptly forgot about them. I am so thrilled–they are so pretty now that they are done. I don’t know what to do with them, so for right now I am hanging them up over the bannister upstairs just to enjoy them. They really pick up the blue from our new paint job in the kitchen!
    I’m so glad to hear that you are happy and well and loving the mission. I saw a quote the other day that I really liked. Maybe you even were the one who pointed it out: I just know that I liked it. It was from President Monson:
    “We need not walk by the shores of Galilee or among the Judean hills to walk where Jesus walked.”
    Hang in there and enjoy every day!

    Love,
    Eva

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

